Support Beams

I’ve been reading Your Nail, Daily Lenten Meditations by Arden W. Mead. On Monday one of the Bible verses to consider was 2 Corinthians 2:12-16. This is the opposite of the parading of prisoners or prisoners of war. I feel it coinsides with Isaiah 54:4 – ” Fear not: for thou shat not be ashamed.” We believers in Christ do not have to do the walk of shame.  We get to hold our heads up high. We are propped up by the cross of Christ.  The very tree that held our savior as he died is now our support. Because of His death we are saved.  We are washed clean of all our sins – sins committed and sins still yet to be done. Your Nail raises the questions “Who or what are your enemies?” and “How has Christ defeated them?” My enemies are my sins and the devil and his death angels of temptation.  Jesus defeated them but I still have to resist as best as I can,  quote the word of God back to them ( as Jesus did when tempted in the desert). Then I need to remember that Christ has overcome the world and death. He lives and because of that I, too, shall live. When in the throws of temptation, may I turn to the cross of Christ and there find my support.

Leave a Reply

